Two school leaders from Lexington One selected for statewide awards

Columbia, SC — The South Carolina Association of School Administrators (SCASA) has named two school leaders from Lexington School District One as the 2024 South Carolina Secondary Assistant Principal of the Year and the 2024 South Carolina Elementary Assistant Principal of the Year. Meg Huggins, assistant principal at River Bluff High School is the 2024 SC Secondary Assistant Principal of the Year, and Tomeka Love, assistant principal at Red Bank Elementary School, is the 2024 SC Elementary Assistant Principal of the Year. 

The other finalists for 2024 SC Secondary Assistant Principal of the Year were Brittany Cummings, assistant principal at RB Stall High School in the Charleston County School District and Patrice Green, assistant principal at Clover High School in York School District Two.

“We are thrilled to announce that Meg Huggins has been named the SCASA Secondary Assistant Principal of the Year,” said Beth Phibbs, Executive Director of the South Carolina Association of School Administrators. “She inspires her students to work hard and always do their best as well as encouraging and supporting faculty members. Mrs. Huggins is an extraordinary individual who embodies the qualities of an exceptional educator and leader.”

Principal of River Bluff High School, Jacob Smith, said, “Meg Huggins is a relentless leader who lives by the motto ‘We can do hard things.' While at River Bluff, she has made significant positive changes as an instructional leader, bringing innovation to the school. Meg also drives the Lead Instructional Team (LIT), ensuring equity and academic excellence. Meg's commitment to student achievement and her ability to inspire positive change make her an outstanding SCASA choice. Her journey as a cancer survivor adds to her inspirational character, making her a source of motivation for colleagues and students.”

The other finalists for 2024 SC Elementary Assistant Principal of the Year were Michelle Johnson, assistant principal at Seven Oaks Elementary MEDIA Magnet in Lexington-Richland School District Five and Joy Ellison, assistant principal at Liberty Primary School in the Pickens County School District.

Beth Phibbs, Executive Director of the South Carolina Association of School Administrators, continued, “We are pleased to announce that Tomeka Love has been named the SCASA Elementary Assistant Principal of the Year. She builds strong working relationships with the school community she serves. Ms. Love creates an environment where students, families, and staff members feel a sense of belonging and believe they can learn, grow, and thrive regardless of circumstance.”

Principal of Red Bank Elementary School, Janet Ricard, said, “Mrs. Love is a true team player who demonstrates great initiative and is committed to continuous school improvement and building positive relationships with all stakeholders. She immediately began to establish the foundation for building collaborative relationships in our building from our leadership team to all grade levels and other school teams. We are thrilled to celebrate the honor of her being named SCASA's 2024 South Carolina Elementary Assistant Principal of the Year. We feel very fortunate to call her a Roadrunner!”

Lexington School District One Superintendent, Dr. Gerrita Postlewait, added, “Tomeka Love and Meg Huggins consistently go above and beyond to create positive and supportive learning environments for our students. They are passionate about education and look for innovative ways to improve our schools. They are also strong advocates for our students and teachers and are always willing to go the extra mile to help them succeed. This well-deserved recognition showcases their outstanding leadership and dedication to our students. Lexington One is grateful for their contributions and the positive impact they have on the lives of our students.”

Both Meg Huggins and Tomeka Love were selected from outstanding fields of administrator candidates by a veteran panel of judges. The criteria used in the selection of both awards are set by the National Association of Secondary School Principals and the National Association of Elementary School Principals for the respective award categories. The state sponsors are Horace Mann and Herff Jones.

SCASA, the professional organization for school leaders in South Carolina, has more than 5,300 members. From professional development opportunities and research to publications and legislative advocacy, SCASA's focus is to support school leaders in providing the best possible education for South Carolina's young people. As a state affiliate of three national associations for school leaders, SCASA also works on the national level.


There have been no comments made on this article. Why not be the first and add your own comment using the form below.

Leave a comment

Commenting is restricted to members only. Please login now to submit a comment.